top of page

Guest Feature: Fave 5

Starting new for 2017, we are giving our TOP HONORS winners their choice of different features. Last week we had Lauren Webster Photography as our winner for the {New Years Resolution} them. She choice to share with you, her FAVE 5 images. I have to admit I am a huge BW fan, and her images blew me out of the water. So much talent. Thank you for sharing with us Lauren.

My name is Lauren. I am a mother, wife, teacher, and lifestyle photographer from West Virginia. I am so honored to share a few of my favorite images with you!

I have had a deep love of photography my entire life, and I fell even more in love with it when my daughter was born two years ago. My photography style has morphed a little through the years, but one thing remains the same-my desire to find and use light and shadow to help tell a story. I adore low lit images in natural light. I love the way light and shadows make details pop.

I am drawn to the authenticity of this image. It's deep, rich black and whites, the light on her face, the Mickey on her shirt, and the way she is standing make me fall for this capture. This screams "two year old" to me, and I love every inch of it.

Tippy toes, curls, a toddler belly, and some fierce window light make this one of my all time favorite images. When I started taking photography seriously, this is the type of image I longed to produce. It is the image that reminds me that I can do this, and when I feel the urge to compare my work to others, I compare it to this instead.

There is nothing like a little golden bokeh and pancakes. Am I right?! There are many reasons I love this photo, but the main reason is because I am an introvert. An introvert with invisible audience syndrom (I made that up.). Having my camera in public is enough to throw me into a slight panic attack. What if someone thinks I look crazy?! The fact that I look my camera in public was enough to make me proud. The image that my bravery produced makes me wonder why I ever left the house without it.

I swoon over photographs that show the details of hands, especially when they're a mama's hands holding on to her baby. I love the contest in this image, her wedding band and engagement ring, and the crop that just barely shows this little guy's mouth.

​I love this image for the same reason I chose the first: it's authenticity. The highlights on her face and toys tell the story of a two year old.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page